Milt Jackson And The Hip String Quartet (1968)

01) You got to pay when the deal goes down (Tom McIntosh)
02) The morning after (Bernard Ebbinghouse)
03) For all we know (J. Fred Lewis / Sam M. Coots)
04) A walkin' thing (Benny Carter)
05) In walked Bud (Thelonious Monk)
06) A little too much (Don Henry / Mike Appel)
07) Bags and strings (Milt Jackson)
08) New rhumba (Ahmad Jamal)

Arranged and conducted by Tom McIntosh

Vibes - Milt Jackson
Piano - Cedar Walton
Bass - Ron Carter or Bob Cranshaw
Drums - Mickey Roker or Grady Tate
Flute - Hubert Laws or James Moody
Tenor saxophone - James Moody

Violin - Sanford Allen
Viola - Alfred Brown
Cellos - Ronald Lipscomb
Kermit Moore or Sidney Edwards

"It's always bothered me," says McIntosh, "that people say strings can't swing. Why is it a bass player can swing? It's just a matter of knowing the language. And I wanted to extend the jazz language to non-conventional jazz instruments."

Even the set-up of the quartet varies slightly from the usual string quartet of two violins, viola and cello. Here, McIntosh employed one violin, viola and two cellos. "I've always felt there was a gap between viola and cello," he says. "What we did was to tune one cello one octave below the violin to close that gap. Many composers have had the idea; it's one of the things that makes the string quartet Hip. And the flute is there to add another color."


Marcadores: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Milt Jackson And The Hip String Quartet (1968)”

  1. # Blogger Martooni

    This looks so hip! Thank you  

  2. # Blogger The Uber Sonic Sonar Radar

    this has made my day alot better, thank you!  

Postar um comentário


[All your base are belong to us]

Evangelista Jornalista
Investigações Artísticas

*Anos Vinte



© 2001-2010 Ronaldo Evangelista